2017 2018 cultural season

This past year, more than 20,000 people attended our events. The alliance team hopes that the 17.18 season will be an even greater success!

A rich, eclectic and diverse season

A new year of cultural activities is unfol­ding at the Spadina Theatre and the Pierre Léon Gallery. With more than 120 events: 35 talks, 8 exhibitions, 35 scree­nings, 25 concerts, 3 theatre plays and dance performances and 9 kid’s events. Alliance always brings you closer to new artistic discoveries.

A gateway to the francophone communities of the world

Naturally, the francophonie will be the common denominator of all our events. As the months progress, you will discover more than 200 artists from many coun­tries across there world where French is a primary language of communication and culture: Canada (Ontario, Québec, Manitoba and New Brunswick), , Europe (France, Switzerland, Belgium), Africa (Mali, Senegal, Burundi, Congo) and the Caribbean.

New features, these surprises await you in 17.18

A brand new program dedicated to the opera! Four screenings of Italian opera from the Festival Verdi in Parma will be shown in collaboration with the Istituto Italiano di Cultura.

Classical music will also be in the spotlight with three exceptional baroque concerts. The series features Jacques Moderne ensemble, led by Joël Suhubiette, inter­nationally renowned choir director; Stradivaria, Nantes Baroque ensemble, directed by violinist Daniel Cuiller (former first violin for Arts Florissants) and lastly Jean Rondeau, French harpsichordist and 2015 Victoire de la musique winner, who will be back in Toronto to our delight.

Another new feature: emphasis placed on the arts and history during our Wednesday night talks. We will be joined by Georges Vigarello, French specialist in cultural history, and Canadian art critic and curator Chantal Pontbriand.

Our On Stage program will be enriched by two contemporary theatre plays: one dedicated to the relationship between Hannah Arendt and Martin Heidegger, which is presented at the Festival d’Avi­gnon 2017. The other play dedicated to the Woman features Nathalie Nadon and Lina Blair, two talented Canadian actors.

Finally, dance will be highlighted in a magnificent and family-friendly perfor­mance from the Bouchardanse Company.

Points of pride

The season will celebrate the anniversa­ries tied to great artists in 2017 and 2018. We will mark the 100th anniversary of the loss of Claude Debussy with Olivier De Spiegeleir, an internationally renowned Belgian pianist. For International Women’s Day on March 8, 2018, Canadian intellec­tual Maïr Verthuy, founder of Montréal’s Simon de Beauvoir Institute, will speak to us about the famed publication “The Second Sex”, which remains as relevant as ever.

As always, we will collaborate with Toronto International Film Fesitval in Septembre 2017, we will observe Holocaust Education Week in November 2017, we will mark Black History Month in February 2018, and we will work with CONTACT Photography Festival and The Toronto Comic Arts Festival in May 2018.

An echoing program

Thanks to numerous cultural institutions, we can offer you original custom pro­gramming. In that respect, working with the Théâtre français de Toronto, we will host a cinematic series tied to the sea­son at TfT. Likewise, several evenings and talks will be organized in collaboration with the Royal Conservatory of Music and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra. These events will highlight some of their upco­ming performances. These concurrent events will not only invite you to our own theatre, but to discover partnering cultu­ral institutions.

A five-themed season: scandal, the body, engagement, 1917 and confluences

As in previous years, Alliance is offering you 5 exciting themes that tie together our events. Conceived as common threads, they will invite you to go from a scree­ning to a talk, or even an exhibition to a concert. 

Brochure 2017 - 2018

2017 2018 cultural season

L’année passée, vous avez été plus de 20 000 personnes à venir assister à nos spectacles. Toute l’équipe de l’alliance souhaite vous voir encore plus nombreux en 2017/2018 !

Une saison riche, éclectique et variée

Une nouvelle année culturelle s’ouvre au théâtre Spadina et dans la galerie Pierre Léon. Avec plus de 120 événements, 35 conférences, 8 expositions, 35 projec­tions de films, 25 concerts, 3 spectacles de théâtre et de danse et 9 événements pour les enfants, l’Alliance vous emmène toujours plus loin vers de nouvelles découvertes artistiques.

Une ouverture sur toutes les francophonies du monde

Bien sûr, la francophonie sera le dénomi­nateur commun de tous nos événements. Au fil des mois vous découvrirez plus de 200 artistes venant de nombreux pays du globe où le français est la langue princi­pale de communication et de culture : le Canada (Ontario, Québec, Manitoba et Nouveau Brunswick), l’Europe (France, Suisse, Belgique), l’Afrique (Mali, Sénégal, Burundi, Congo) et les Caraïbes.

Les nouveautés, voici les surprises qui vous attendent en 2017/2018 !

Un tout nouveau cycle consacré à l’opé­ra ! Quatre projections d’opéras italiens issus du festival Verdi de Parme, vous seront présentées en collaboration avec l’Istituto Italiano di Cultura.

La musique classique sera aussi à l’hon­neur avec trois concerts exceptionnels de musique baroque, avec l’ensemble Jacques Moderne, dirigé par Joël Suhubiette, chef de choeur de renommée internationale ; Stradivaria, ensemble Baroque de Nantes, dirigé par le violo­niste Daniel Cuiller (ancien 1er violon des Arts Florissants) et enfin Jean Rondeau, claveciniste français, Victoire de musique classique en 2015, qui reviendra à Toronto pour notre plus grand plaisir.

Autre nouveauté : l’accent mis sur les arts et l’histoire dans nos conférences du mercredi. Nous accueillerons entre autre le français Georges Vigarello, grand spé­cialiste de l’histoire culturelle, et la cri­tique d’art et commissaire d’exposition canadienne Chantal Pontbriand.

Le cycle Sur les planches sera enrichi, avec deux pièces de théâtre contem­poraines : l’une consacrée aux rela­tions entre Hannah Arendt et Martin Heidegger, à l’affiche du Festival d’Avi­gnon 2017, et l’autre à la Femme, avec deux talentueuses comédiennes cana­diennes : Nathalie Nadon et Lina Blais.

Enfin la danse sera présente avec un magnifique spectacle pour la famille, de la compagnie Bouchardanse.

Les points d’orgue

La saison célèbrera de grands artistes dont nous commémorerons les anniver­saires en 2017 et 2018. Nous fêterons ainsi le 100ème anniversaire de la dispari­tion de Claude Debussy avec Olivier De Spiegeleir, pianiste belge de renommée internationale. Aussi, à l’occasion de la journée Internationale de la Femme, le 8 mars 2018, l’intellectuelle canadienne Maïr Verthuy, fondatrice de l’Institut Simone de Beauvoir à Montréal, nous par­lera du fameux ouvrage : Le Deuxième sexe, toujours d’actualité. Enfin, le 7 avril 2018, nous célèbrerons la francophonie, avec l’artiste Yao et ses complices dans le cadre d’une soirée slam pleine de poésie, de rythmes et d’espoir.

Bien sûr, nous soulignerons le Mois de l’Histoire des Noirs en février 2018, et continuerons nos collaborations avec le TIFF en septembre 2017, la semaine de l’éducation de l’holocauste en novembre 2017, le festival photo CONTACT et le Toronto Comic Arts Festival, en mai 2018.

Une programmation en échos

Grâce au concours de nombreuses ins­titutions culturelles, nous vous propo­serons des cycles fabriqués sur-mesure. Ainsi, avec le Théâtre français de Toronto nous vous présenterons un cycle cinéma mettant en perspective et en contexte les pièces du TfT. De même, plusieurs soi­rées musicales et des conférences seront organisées en parallèle aux concerts du Conservatoire Royal de Musique et de l’Orchestre Symphonique de Toronto. Ces mises en miroir seront des invita­tions à vous rendre dans notre théâtre et aussi dans nos institutions culturelles partenaires.

Une saison en 5 thèmes : scandale, corps, engagement, 1917 et confluences

Comme les années précédentes, l’Alliance vous propose 5 thèmes qui lieront tous nos événements. Pensés comme des fils conducteurs, ils vous invi­teront à passer d’une projection de film à une conférence, ou encore d’une exposi­tion à un concert. 

Brochure 2017 - 2018